Forbidden or Haram Foods In Islam

Haram is an Arabic word which,in general, means prohibited or unlawful. In Islam, Haram foods are means unlawful.
They are:
  1. Pork and its by-products.
  2. Alcohol.
  3. Meat of dead animals.
  4. Animals slaughtered in a name other than Allah Swt.
  5. Blood.
  6. Intoxicating drugs, etc.
If a Muslim uses any of the above listed Haram products, he would be sinful.
In some exceptional cases a Muslim may use the Haram foods in the following circumstances:
1. By mistake, or
2. If he is in danger.

When there is no other food available except the one which is Haram, then he is given the permission to use it to survive only. In this respect Allah Swt says following in the Qur’an in Surah Al-Baqarah (The Cow) [2:173]:

"He has only forbidden you dead meat and the flesh of swine and that which any other name hath been invoked besides that of God. But if one is forced by necessity, without willful disobedience nor transgressing due limit, then he is guiltless. For God is Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful."

Thank you for your attention about Forbidden or Haram Foods In Islam


  1. Hello my friend Muhammad Tsani, I added your Link in my blog, adds my blog, good weekend my friend. Hugs Valter.


Silahkan berikan Saran dan Kritiknya, untuk kemajuan blog dan kenyamanan bersama.